Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Barrista

5,350 Points
  • Person of Interest 200
  • Window Shopper 100
  • Signature Look 250
PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 5:21 pm
So 2010 is going to be a big year for me... I'm turning 18 and graduating from high school.

Both are big events and at least one of them is expected to be celebrated with a big party. But... I'm not popular enough to have a big party. My community is very small, only 20 in my graduating class, and I've only been here for five years. Most of my classmates have known each other since Pre-K. Compared to that, I'm still a newbie with no childhood connections.

My Mom suggested having a small b-day dinner and a huge grad party. I told her honestly "Why? No one will come."

All I can think of is the Halloween party I held three years ago. It was a big to-do, my whole house was decorated and a bunch of food was cooked. I handed out invites to everyone in my grade. I didn't add a RSVP because we didn't expect that much. But then the party came... and only five people showed up. No music was blaring, no one was dancing. We ended up, all six of us, sitting in my living room floor and making small talk. It wasn't a failure per se... but it was definitely not a success.
---

I need advice on what I should do. I do want to have a party, but I don't want it to be a repeat of the Halloween party; I don't want to be depressed on my b-day or after my graduation. I have more friends now, but I'm not known for wild parties. But if I don't have a party at all... I'll feel like I'm letting my mom down. And I do feel like those two events need celebrating.
Argh. I'm just so confused.

Short version:

I don't feel I'm popular enough to have a party for my 18th birthday or graduation. But I do kind of want one and I feel like I should.

Suggestions?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 8:55 pm