Advice, please?

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Emu Avian

Lucky Explorer

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 8:22 pm
Okay, I completely spaced on the title, I know, but this is an important issue for me. Actually, I have two that I need help on, you can choose whichever to respond to.

I'm an artist and a musician and am in a bit of a rut right now. The main reason for being in a rut is looking at other people's example and feeling horrid about my own for it, because it's not as good. I always want to get better, and better, and better, and better, and better, and better, and better, and better, and better, and better, and it's driving me MAD! I don't know how to deal with this, and my self image anymore. I've heard that I shouldn't base my own skill off of others', but it's so difficult to fight human nature, and I don't want to be horrible and oblivious. I've heard I should take a break, but drawing and playing my instruments are the only ways I can vent anymore (See issue 2, if you want more details on that).If I gave them up, I'd be even worse off. But I want to be good so badly I can taste it, and a drive like this is damaging when you can't seem to move forward. So how do I get out of this stupid rut, without having to completely remodel my entire life viewpoints?

Issue 2:

As you might have seen if you read issue 1, I can't really vent anymore other than through the work of art and music. But, way back when, that wasn't true; I had singing to help me, and I miss it a lot. I got scared of singing after being laughed at in class for singing, and being told I had a horrible voice by one of my friends. I want to sing again, and sing as loud as I can, and feel alive like that again, but I'm horribly afraid to. Can someone please tell me how I can sing without being heard, or get past my fear?